Promised Recipes - - Fly Fishing Forum
>> Archive: Salmon & Steelhead Flies Spey flies to mixed wings, new innovations

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2003, 08:32 PM
cast,mend,stumble,swear..

Promised Recipes -

As I previously promised - Recipes for the flies I've posted. Again, I GREATLY appreciate everyone's feedback. Someone mentioned that i've "been at it a while." Well, been tying since I was 10, so that's 21 years. Am essentially self taught, with maybe 2 or 3 formal lessons in all that time. Am sure I've learned the hard way, with many wheels "re-invented" over that time. Have been tying steelhead ties for the past 3 years, have been experimenting with spey styles and more traditional ties in just the past 6 months... Enjoying it thoroughly!!!
Well, 'nough BS... The recipes, referenced to the photos from my posting "Don't Laugh" from a few days ago... Enjoy, and if you have success with any of 'em, i'd love to hear about it!!

First fly is the one Ive been calling "yet to be named" or "to be named later". Well, it has a name, just needed review and approval from the originator of the pattern and color combination. Presented the fly pictured here to Amy (Randall) Hazel, of Deschutes Angler fame, and she approved. The fly is none other than a semi- Glasso Spey version of her famous Green Butt Lum PLum. Both John and Amy approved of the tie, and plan on fishing it for themselves. Hope you have as much success as the name sake---

Recipe:
Hook - Alec Jackson spey (nickel in the original Lum Plum series, black) or Patridge Bartleet; hook size your choice (I tie Bartleet 4's - 1/0 for deschutes fish).
Thread - Purple Uni-thread, 8/0
tag - medium silver tinsel, wrapped under floss butt as well (helps the floss "glow")
Butt - light green nylon floss, single strand (my preference for a more subdued "classic" look); experimenting with a fl. green uni-floss as well for something a bit brighter and more like the original.