River sharing question - Fly Fishing Forum
Pacific Northwest Sea Run Forum No such thing as rainbow trout, only landlocked steelhead

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2003, 05:19 PM

River sharing question

So I have had some really bad experiences this spring with rafters and kayakers up on the Sky this year. I am trying not to get too mad. The worst was a raft guide that laughed at me when I tried to get him to go to one side of the river instead of shooting the middle of my run even though there was plenty of room. I have never been so close to trhowing a rock at a guy in my life. It is getting out of control and there will be an issue at some point.

Rafters always say hey the river is our too, but as soon as they go through the water it is no longer good for fishing the most part and all through the afternoon there are more rafts and Kayaks then you can count and it is basically worthless to try to fish. Plus they get three months to raft the river with no fisherman on it. March, April, and May. That is more then we get the river with out them.

I am biased because the rafters on the north umpqua are out of control too and I am very bitter about that. But is there some way to get them limited from the river July-Sept (they get three months we get three months). And\or make time restrictions they can only be on the river 11-5. Both of these have been implemented to some extent on the Umpqua.

I am fed up with them. I like that the more people that we have to care about river is a great thing. But they are rude. They should follow river rules. Like if there is a fisherman in a run you don't go through until the fisherman is done. Or ask the fisherman where he wants you to go.

Any one know who controls stuff like this for the river?

JJ
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-09-2003, 05:26 PM
Recent Member

Send a message via AIM to fishinbyfly