S. Fork of the Snake in Idaho? - Fly Fishing Forum
Worldwide Flyfishing Discussion Talk flyfishing with members around the world!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-02-2003, 12:03 PM
Recent Member

Location: Eagle River, Gore Creek, Green River, South Fork of the Snake
S. Fork of the Snake in Idaho?

I'm a novice rower but an experienced fly fisher. I am interested in floating the S. Fork of the Snake this August in a 18 foot Dory.
What are the best and easiest sections to float?
What is the most scenic section to float?
What class is most of the river and can a novice float it?
I want to float the river all day and have a shuttle for my truck, then car camp near the river, any suggestions for this?
Any lodges or cabins that you recommend in the area?
Any other info would be great! Many thanks!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-06-2003, 08:06 AM
Recent Member

FlyDry,

I was stationed in Idaho Falls from 91 to 94 and used to fish the South Fork quite a bit. Used to be one of the great Cutthroat rivers in the U.S.
The Swan Valley area is a great place to float and down thru the canyon to Ririe or is it Rigsby ?
There are no major rapids that I remember, so, if you're experienced it should be no problem. As for lodges - the South Fork Lodge is fairly well known. I believe its owned by Mike Lawson of Henry's Fork Anglers Inc. fame.
One request - please, please, kill every Rainbow or hybrid you catch ! I know that we believe in catch & release, but, ironically this belief could be the biggest issue in this particular river's future. Since I left, the Rainbows are taking the river over at an alarming rate ! The last electroshock survey in 2002 yielded approx 1:1 ratio of Rainbows or hybrids to Cutts. Harvesting Rainbows is maybe the only hope to saving the South Fork's once great Cutthroat fishery.
beartooth91

Mark Barrett
mbarrett@earthlink.net
Old 07-07-2003, 09:13 AM
Recent Member