Rogue River - Undersized Steelhead ! - Fly Fishing Forum
Pacific Northwest Sea Run Forum No such thing as rainbow trout, only landlocked steelhead

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2003, 07:02 PM

Rogue River - Undersized Steelhead !

Mr. F. Evans please explain this to me. Undersized Rogue steelhead I have been hearing for 20 years, hah, now I know the truth.

PM Out

http://www.currypilot.com/news/story.cfm?story_no=5748
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-08-2003, 08:39 PM

Send a message via AIM to D3Smartie
i hate poor editing. talking about springers and saying steelhead. GRRRR learn how to write and what you are writing about if you are going to do it as a job.
Old 03-09-2003, 05:18 AM

Hal, almost missed this post.

From personal observation the summer run steelhead on the Roge will (typical year) average 3-6 pounds, winter fish 7-12'ish. However, this years run of summer runs was exceptional due to the number of fish that were in the 10-12# range. Good ocean feeding this year???

Salmon ... that's a whole nother Beastie! Record last year was a 71 1/2# king on a 7wt fly rod out of a pram in the lower river. Only reason guy landed the fish is a partner got below the fish and netted it out of his pram when it rolled on the surface.

The spring run of kings (almost 45,000 through the counter into the upper river last year) will average 20-30# with a considerable number well above this figure. These fish are not too inclined to take a fly so the typical (particularly for the gear guys) is what we call "flossing." This is a very heavy head (300-400 grain RIO Big Boys and a fairly long leader and heavy fly. This is the time of the year I'll be using heavy tube flys due to weight and bulk.