Fly Fishing Forum banner

Temple Fork Outfitters

2K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  ScottMisfits 
#1 ·
Has anyone had any experience with these rods? I am looking at a new rod since mine is one my Dad made 20-25 years ago. I am looking at the Ti-CR series in the 5 weight, 9'0". I am going to buy the complete rod for now and possibly upgrade as I see fit. I am more concerned with the blank itself, rather than the attachments.

I am a rookie and I am not too sure what to look for in a rod but this seems to be the one, weight and length wise, that gets reccomended to me most often. The other one I am looking at is the St. Croix but this is a cheaper alternative. If it's comparable, I'll probably get it.

#2 ·
First of all, welcome to the forums!

TFO rods have been discussed quite a bit so you should probaby do a search to get more info. St Croix rods are always excellent quality (I own 3). What rod is best for you is tough to say. The TFO is a faster rod and less forgiving for a beginning caster, while the St Croix rods in the same price range are a bit slower and easier to cast.

#5 ·
since we are on the topic of TFO rods can someone who has cast a lot of rods please compare them to other brands?
I have fished and used a lot of rods: redington, st croix, fenwick, winston, orvis, T&T and sage... but have not fished a TFO. I cast one in the parking lot but thats been it. I havent seen what the hype is about, but i sure hear a lot about them. judging by nm's reply he thinks that they are over rated:razz:

#6 ·
Thanks guys. I did a search right after I posted this. I did find a bunch of stuff on them.

I also talked to a few of the guys that I work with that go to the same basic area as I am going and they said they liked their's. Probably 3 guys that I work with have them. I am going to try one out before I buy one I think but so far, it's the best option for me right now.

#9 ·