Fly Fishing Forum banner

Wrapping Hackle?

2K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  juro 
#1 ·
I am new to fly tying and am having some trouble wrapping hackle. I grab the end of the feather with my hackle pliers and start to wrap the shank of the hook. However, the feather frequently breaks right at the point where I grab it with my hackle pliers. Am I doing something wrong? I am not pulling on the feather with an excessive amount of force and no matter how careful I am I seem to break feathers.

Could this be due to the hackle feathers being of poor quality? Could my hackle pliers be causing this by having a sharp edge or grabbing the feather too tight? How can I solve this problem?

#2 ·
IMHO it's tools or technique thats causing your problem. If you had brittle feathers you'd breakoff at the tie in point. That can be much more frustrating.

The tools are easy to test. Open up the hackle pliers, take a cotton ball and rub lightly over the faces that touch the feather. If tufts of cotton are pulled off that is your problem. polishing the pliers with 600 grit sand papper or a buffing wheel will cure the problem.

If not then here are a couple of things to try. Grip the feather further from the tip when you apply the pliers. Or hold the feather between your finger tips when winding the hackle and only use the hackle pliers to weight down the hackle when tying it down.

#3 ·
One of the most common causes of the hackle breaking is putting the hackle pliers on to the feather tip incorrectly. If the hackle pliers are placed at right angles (sideways across the feather), they are prone to bread the feather stem as you wrap the hackle.

The proper was to place the hackle pliers on the feather is with the hackle plier jaws pointing down the feather stem. If you do this, it should fix the problem of hackle feathers breaking as you wrap the hackle.

#4 ·
Another Twist

Uptrout.