Fly Fishing Forum banner

I would like some insight

3K views 9 replies 9 participants last post by  Muckle Salmon 
#1 ·
I would like some insight into a mentality which I have heard across this site. Can anybody please tell me when I can get to the place where the fish are secondary or when it "ceases to be a numbers game'? I have been fishing steelhead for fifteen years now using various techniques, mostly with a fly rod. I picked up a spey last year and have had a blast fishing with it. Swinging flies is definately in my tricks especially in the spring when the water warms up a bit but I have a confession to make. When I release a steelhead, all I want to do is hook another steelhead. I don't count fish, I can't tell you at the end of the day, unless I hook less than two fish, how many I hooked. I get the satisfaction fo hooking fish on the swing and usually start the day with it but if it gets towards noon, and I have driven 2 1/2 hours to get to the stream, out comes the egg patterns and nymphs and I hit the slots. I use tactics which catch fish. In the colder water, I use slower presentations and nymphs and eggs, in the warmer temps, 45 and above I start to swing flies and right until mid to late May, catch plenty of steelhead on the swing. I guess after fifteen years and more steelhead than I can remember, I have to giggle every time I hook a fish, and laugh out loud every time it makes me look stupid. Isn't that why we go to the river? To see that cartwheeling twisting beautiful animal go ballistic?

#2 ·
Shaq,
I have this discussion with my father in law who is in his 70's and longs for the days of snagging with lead wrapped treble hooks. He doesn't understand why I limit myself to a technique which self admittedly is not the most effective way to catch steelhead, particularly on the great lakes.