Fly Fishing Forum banner

winter steelhead flies?

8K views 20 replies 10 participants last post by  Steelheader69 
#1 ·
i am still learning new steelhead flies and want to try to fish for steelies this winter but i have a very small selection of flies mostly eggs any help will be appreciated

#2 ·
Sean

There are some excellent books out now on steelhead flytying. You could start with the bible " steelhead flyfishing" by Trey Combs which has quite a few patterns to choose from. or you could go to Kent Helvies book which I cant remember the name of but is excellent, and features some of the best in the world. Or you could take a look at my personal favorite "spey flies & Dee flies" for salmon and steelhead by John Shewey, which gives some history to some of the old patterns that are still very effective today. If you do a little research I think you will find a huge resource to work from.

Brian

#4 ·
Sean,

I recommend you get either Helvie's book "Steelhead Fly Tying Guide" or Combs book "Steelhead Fly Fishing" before you get a style specific book like Shewey's "Spey Flies and Dee Flies". Both Helvie and Combs provide pattern recipes for all types of steelhead flies, which makes them a better choice for someone new to steelhead flies. Also, the Helvie book provides tying sequence photos and directions for the major types of steelhead fly styles, which would be of value to anyone knew to steelhead flies.

Another possibility is "Flies for Steelhead" by Allen.

#5 ·
My Two Cents

Hey Sean,

While it's out-of-print, yet still inexpensive, a great book for learning the fundamentals of dressing Steelhead patterns is the "Steelhead Fly Tying Manual" by Tom Light & Neal Humphrey. It contains a great assortment of easy to understand step-by-step (B/W Photo) tying sequences of most of the NW 'classics' and a great Rx appendix.