Fly Fishing Forum banner

The New Guy...

2K views 2 replies 3 participants last post by  juro 
#1 ·
Hey there everyone,

I, like all of you before me, have discovered the amazing sport of fly fishing. I am not a novice in the sport, but am also by no means an expert. My exprience in the world of fly fishing consists of around 4 or so outings with friends, and a proffessional guide or two down the eagle river in colorado.

I know most of the basics to fly fishing and am finally looking to buy a rod of my own. All of my fishing (for now) will be done in the Northwest, mainly Oregon, but also Colorado and California. I am looking for a nice rod and reel (only one for now, heh) I was thinking probably a 6 weight. I was hoping that you guys could recommend some good rods/reels to me, keeping the price around $800 or so.

I was also wondering what the difference between a 2 peices, 3 peice, 4 piece is. Obviously I know its the number of pieces the rods disassembles into, but I was wondering what the pros and cons (if there are any at all) of a 4 piece vs a 2 piece. Lastly, does the height of the rod matter at all?

Thanks much guys,
-Dave

See less See more
#2 ·
Rods with less pieces generally cast a little better, but most people apreciate the convienience of a 4pc. pc rods from a good mfg will cast great.

I think that a 9' 5wt is about the perfect all around western trout rod.

Go to your local shop and check out a bunch of out fits. Cast the different rods and buy local. You will save little by shopping online, and the services provided by a good shop are well worth what difference there might be.

Finally, I recomend the Sage XP with a Ross Cimeron reel and Scientific Anglers Mastery Trout line. That should be a pretty good set up for about 800 bucks.

Maybe get a 100 dollar reel and a 50 dollar casting lesson.

#3 ·
Welcome newguy!