Fly Fishing Forum banner

Atlantic salmon fly patterns

8K views 22 replies 14 participants last post by  wilbert 
#1 ·
Are there any good web sites out there that list fly patterns and show you how to tie them??? also can anyone recomend any good books.

Cheers.

#3 ·
Book

Try "the fly-tying bible" by peter gathercole.

It covers the main salmon flies (modern). It also covers most other fly types, with step by step instructions and clear illustrations on how to make each fly.

This book is an essential piece of armoury for both beginners and competent tyers.

Just annoyed I only found it last year!

Gordon

#5 ·
If you are looking for a book to learn how to tie married featherwings, see if you can find a copy of Ron Alcott's BUILDING SALMON FLIES. It is no longer in print, but it is the best, step-by-step married wing tying book I've ever seen, and it is available for around $15.00 US on the used book market.

#6 ·
Willie gunn I have been tying flys for trout and salmon for 8 years on and off but dont get the time to get to a good standard. Most of the flys that I tie are either copies of ones that I have bought or made up patterns, some of which have been quite sucessful. What are the best tying materials to buy that would cover a wide range of patterns? as some of the materials can be rather expensive (i have a very limited budget). Thanks for everyone else that has posted a reply, the info has been of good help.

#7 ·
Tie hairwing patterns, leave off jungle cock if called for, use squirrel, bear hair, and synthetics, use old style Mustad hooks (36890 about $10 per K or about $0.15 per hook in lower quantities)), and you should have no problem keeping your tying on the reasonable side.

#8 ·
Wilbert, So you know how to just really need to know the patterns. I tie to catch fish not fishermen, my heads are big and untidy and sometimes encroach on the eye, but they seldom fall to bits and they work. I start with the pattern from either -