Fly Fishing Forum banner

Mark Doogue

2K views 0 replies 1 participant last post by  MarkDoogue 
#1 ·
Hello, my name is Mark, and I'm a lurker..........

I think you get the point. I've been told that realizing you have a problem is the first step on the road to recovery.

I'm an absolute newbie to this wonderful sport but I'm willing to learn all that it has to offer. I fished with my father and brother as a child, mostly fresh water, exclusively with spinning gear. As time went on I gravitated away from fishing and submerged myself in the world of golf. There were years that I played 100+ rounds, back before Tiger Woods, when the courses were empty and greens fees were $9 for people under 18 years of age. I continue to maintain that there is on better feeling on God's green Earth than a three hour stroll, alone on a golf course with no one to compete against other than yourself. You'll never strike a ball as purely when you are with others.

The escalating popularity, and in turn, the cost of golf necessitated a re-evaluation of my priorities. With the purchase of a house and the talk of children comes the realization that money is a valuable commodity that ought not be squandered. Even more precious than money was my time, and golf was devouring it. Between painfully slow six hour rounds, travel back and forth from the Cape, then lunch and drinks, I found myself away from my family for 8-12 hours on the weekends. I needed an activity with lesser time constraints that would also sooth the stresses that every day life fostered. A return to fishing seemed to be the answer.