Fly Fishing Forum banner

Buy -Build Spey rod

5K views 21 replies 8 participants last post by  Jim Miller 
#1 ·
Hi all
I have already solicited info from Todd & Juro....but I will put this out to the general membership too! ;)

I 'm looking to buy or build a spey rod. I will use this for Salmon River Salmon & steelhead as well saltwater fishing for bass & blues.

I'm a pretty good single handed caster....untested (untrained) w/ a Spey.
I am usually pretty technical and strive for good form.

So what do you think is a good all round rod option for me. Both in a built rod or a good blank to custom build upon.

I'm thinking 7/8 13' .....but what do I know. :Eyecrazy:
Thanks in advance for helping me spend my birthday present! :eek:
Ohhh Budget! $400 plus or preferably minus. :D

#2 ·
Jim,
I built a 12'-6" 7 wt with a forecast blank so far, and this is my first year useing it, I'm pretty happy. It is actually closer to a to an 8wt from what I've been told. I have it lined with a 540 grn skagit compact head. It seems pretty forgiving and served me well on the Deschutes and also handled Salmon river Kings and steelhead in these higher flows. Total cost for blank and components is under $150 so it isn't much to get started you'll spend again as much on the line and tips. As I'm sure you've been told it will all depend on what type of set up you plan on useing. My next rod will be a Rainshadow 12'-6" 6wt set up with a scandi head for lighter presentations and poly leaders they also have a 13'-7wt. Gary Anderson help design them and he was very helpful with any questions I had. Since I'm new to this also I look forward to everybody elses comments.

#3 ·
For a river of that size and flow I would fish my CND Solstice 13'8" 6/7/8 and I'm sure it would be ideal. In fact, there are few rivers where I would opt for something smaller and at that point I'd likely go single-hand Spey casting (see Simon Gawesworth's book / video) with my trusty 9.5 ft 8wt Sage RPL.