Fly Fishing Forum banner

William Joseph Flats Lite fanny pack?

2K views 8 replies 7 participants last post by  Moose 
#1 ·
Does anyone know if this small fanny pack will fit a C&F waterproof fly box (the larger models)?

Thanks in advance,
Preston

#3 ·
Oh....

Juro,

You bring up a good point. Never thought about it. I'm new to the flats (going to Eleuthera in March). My only experience was on Ascension Bay in Mexico and I never went deeper than my knees. However I was being guided with a boat...so I may have to wade deeper in Eleuthera (DIY).

Unfortunately there are no William Joseph dealers in Toronto anymore (we only have one dedicated fly shop) and they also don't carry C&F.

My other question was around a stripping basket getting in the way of a fanny pack.

I do already have a William Joseph Coast vest however I think it's overkill for the flats.

Was thinking about the over the one shoulder satchels to wear. That would seem to solve the stripping basket issue and getting wet issue. However, just wondering if weight on one shoulder is good for you long term.

Others please chime in.

Thanks,
Preston

#4 ·
Preston,

I used the Willian Joseph creel for about 1 season on the flats. I didn't find the single shoulder issue to be a problem at all but I didn't like having the small chest pack. I found it got in the way when fighting a fish. This was especially apparent when putting side pressure on the fish and reaching across my chest. If you don't mind chest packs you probably will like the creel. I still have one I don't use so if you are interested let me know. If you give me measurements of the box you are trying to fit I could also check that out.

Sean

#5 ·