Fly Fishing Forum banner

Sharpening Hooks?

2K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  bill 
#1 ·
Ok, a dumb question here, but I never really got this hook sharpening thing down. I know I need to get with it, so can someone explain it here graphically? I used to be a professional chef, so the whole knife to stone thing is natural to me. Just which "edge" on the hook needs honing the most? It may be tough to explain without a graphic. Sully, got any pictures? Thank you.

TerryW

#2 ·
Terry,

I used to use a flat file and sharpen the top of the hook from the point back on both sides so there would be a ridge/ edge on the top.

Last year I receved a file as a gift from LL Bean that is 2 rods held together by the handle. I run it from the behind the point forward. Easy & fast, I can show you the needle sized holes in my fingers to attest to it's effectiveness.

Roop

#3 ·
I pay the bucks for chemically sharpened hooks (TMC, Daichi, etc). When dulled, I used a ceramic stone (doesn't rust) but it does't sharpen S/S very well. The old Luhr Jensen Metal files do the trick but rust solid if not washed and oiled. Diamond sharpeners are best from my experiences.

#4 ·
I agree there's a lot more to sharpening hooks than meets the eye. I've seen all sorts of descriptions (three sides, just inside edges, 4-edge diamond...) Most folks seem to take a few swipes and declare it done. I've been doing three edges (two inside and one outside the bend) but it doesn't feel right. If someone has a sharpener's (as opposed to a fisherman's) description of what to do and what to use, I'd be glad to hear it. Methinks the place to ask is at knife or woodworking shows, and not fishing places.

I've been absolutely amazed to see what a new, laser-sharpened hook wil penetrate. Wish I could come even close when sharpening by hand.

#5 ·
Good question Terry!