Fly Fishing Forum banner

Just getting started

2K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  Bogymaker 
#1 ·
Hi, I'm just getting started in this sport and want to make sure I'm headed in the right direction. I just purchaced a Ross Cimmeron 3 reel, which takes line wts 5,6,&7. I am looking at a St. Croix Avid 9' 6wt 4piece rod. Is this a good rod for the money? I plan on fishing mostly for Trout and occasionaly Steelhead or Bass. I fish mostly in West Michigan on medium size rivers that feed into Lake Michigan. Would this outfit work well for this type of fishing? Thanks

#2 ·
The 6wt should be OK. If you do find yourself fishing steelhead and bass more often though a 7wt would be a little better. Easier to throw the bigger flies associated with bass and steelhead. If the trout are big a 7wt is not too much overkill.

-sean

#3 ·
On The Other Side Of The Fly

Bogymaker,
First, let me say welcome! Always good to see folks taking up a great sport like Flyfishing. I would say if your fishing for Trout more than 60-70% of your time, then the 6wt should be fine, and I might add that if the fish in your area are on average 8-14 " in length, then my money would be on a 5wt of the same brand that you described in your post. That is the set-up that I fish with, for Trout, Bass, and other fresh water Game Fish. I find it most suitable for a range of conditions. You can always get a 7wt and an extra spool for that reel at a later date. Keep us posted on what you get.
BTW, I have landed 18-20+" Trout with that set-up.......YEAH BABY, no problem!
Good casting!

Deerhawk

#4 ·
started

welcome!!
Now that you got the Bug!!
get a better Rod than the St.croix!!
like a sage or used winston boron grafite you can get great buys on used riods
and a better rod will last years longer!
you are in a great area to fish and try to join a trout Unlimited chapter near you
they will welcome you with open arms!!
Go to the tu site and look for a chapter in your area and state
Tight Lines