Fly Fishing Forum banner

atlantis beach tamer

2K views 10 replies 6 participants last post by  striperstripper 
#1 ·
I picked up the rod last week but I tried it for the first time today,never having cast a 2 hand rod of any kind before I 'm at the bottom of the learning curve,and totally in need of lots of practice,any suggestions or pointers will be greatly appreciated. thanks paul.

#3 ·
If you're ontheCape...

Gimme' a shout or pm and we can get you off and running...
I've got one rigged with a 580 intermediate shooting head and the system is fun once you start to break the code...
I'm no expert but I can throw far enough to catch fish that were once outa' range with a single hander...
Make it to the clave next weekend and you can corner Juro!
NO WORRIES!:D

#4 ·
Hi Paul -

Welcome to the fraternity of two-handed beach fly casters! Although it does take a little getting used to, it should only take a few practice sessions to get the technique down cold. Most cases a morning or afternoon with the rod is all it takes! Here are a few pointers, also if you can make it to the Spring Clave on Cape Cod I or any of the other two-handed casting dudes can help you for sure:

• Make sure you have enough grains in the line to flex the rod, like Penguin says 580 is perfect. This rod, althought very light, is not a toy :)
  • Pay attention to the grip - hold the rod on the upper half of the top handle and put the butt in the crotch of your bottom hand between the thumb and palm
  • Flip the middle finger with your upper hand, place the line under it, then close the finger. This lays the line against three fingers. Also put the line into the fingers on the bottom hand for insurance in case it slips on the upper hand.
  • Practice just casting the head portion of the line gently, find a clean "lane" where the loop is nice on both sides. NOTE: the stroke will be much more abrupt than a single handed stroke.