Fly Fishing Forum banner

recipe for sunray shadow?

5K views 10 replies 5 participants last post by  Ken_ D 
#1 ·
I'm new to this forum and delighted to find it, I know the sunray shadow is a well known tube fly, however, I do not tie tube flies. I am looking for a recipe for a salmon hook, a photo would be great if anyone has one. I'm fairly new to Atlantic Salmon fishing, just a couple of years, I'll be fishing the Gaspe in June and I' researching and tying for that trip. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Terry

#2 ·
Sunray Shadow

1.5" plastic tube.

Body,tail,rib etc.: None

Wing: Natural brown hair (e.g. squirrel) the length of the tube, 2-3 peacock herls over this and at last a long overwing of black goat.

Originally the length of the fly was around 10-15 cm. In Brooks orignal pattern Colobus monkey was used for the overwing. A variation exist with white underwing. Tie the wing quite wide to get a good silouette.

I tie mine with white underwing, 2-3 peacock krystal flash and black goat or bear overwing. I vary the total length of the fly from 2 cm to 15 cm. I also angle the front of the plastic tube to help the fly dive in the current.

A simple pattern and a very efficient fly, at least here in Norway.

Knut

#3 · (Edited)
Post removed: I invite the poser of the question to do a search for yourself on your favourite engine. Regrets for the appearnce of spam, promoting web sites in foreign countries. KD

Ken,
I hope you rememberd rule 2
Rule #2 - Respecting sponsorships, and spam

Since our life blood is sponsorships, we must keep advertisement meaningful in our community. Avoid spamming by openly promoting non-sponsors in a way that directly advertises their businesses unless you have consulted with a moderator or administrator first. If you want to promote non-sponsors in this manner, you will be asked to email the business to suggest sponsorship of our community (CC: sponsorships@flyfishingforum.com).

Willie Gunn

#4 · (Edited)