Fly Fishing Forum banner

Newbie question: how to balance rod & reel

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Mike Oliver 
#1 ·
I'm new to fly fishing and need some advice re balance of reel-to-rod. I have a Sage SP 9', 5 wt., 3 piece rod and i'm now shopping for a reel to match it. The set-up will be used for trout fishing in small to medium creeks and rivers in California. I have a minor shoulder problem with my casting arm so I want to keep the rod-reel combo as light as possible. A salesman at the local fly shop told me it was important to "balance" the rod to the reel, but he didn't elaborate. My question is how to determine if a reel is the right balance for my rod, and if anyone has reel suggestions for me. I was considering an Orvis Battenkill Barstock II or III, or a Ross Evolution 1.5, but now I don't know if these would be the right "balance" for my rod. Thanks for any suggestions. Evans...

#2 ·
Any of those reels mentioned should fit that rods fine. Just don't buy a reel that is TOO big for the rod....you prolly want to stay away from any large Arbor stuff....you really don't need it with a 5 wt on small streams. Just by small and light and it should be "balanced". I personally like Ross Reels.

#3 ·
I argree keep it light if your trout fishing small to medium streams you are probably not going to be catching huge fish and if you do they are not going to go very far. You will probably rarely use your drag. I have Bar stock 3 which I like but understand the Ross is very good just not as widely sold in the norheast.
My favorite trout real is a cheapo pflueger click drag, mostly because it's on my favorite rod right now and it sounds cool when the fish run! :) Good luck it's a great sport

#4 ·
Update