Fly Fishing Forum banner

Grand Rhonde "help"

1K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  TerryD 
#1 ·
Went fishing on the Grand Rhonde River above Cottonwood Creek. Tried Nymps, Gold Bead Larve, Hot Pink Streamers (pardon my blunt description - I don't know the tech. names)
Then tried yarn and hook. Didn't get so mush as a bite.

What are the steelhead biting? Are they feeding or triggerd by action and colors. Any help or tips would really be a great help.

I'm new to fly fishing and am really enjoying much more than drifting yarn and corkey.

Thank you,

jjsteelie

#2 ·
First thing is find some water that is NOT good drift water but good fly wate... inside bends of the river with good boulder pattens, scooped out gravel scallops on the bottom from the last high water, or nice current seams. Look for a place where the fly can be swum just above the tops of the rocks at half the current speed to entice that big nasty buck to come up a foot and yank that flyrod right out of your hands. Look for a place where you can cast, swing, step, and repeat to cover 300 yards of river bank - don't stand in one spot but go back and cover it again if you think the fish were there and didn't respond. In winter maximize the hang down time of your fly in good water.

The fly is not the most important part - here is my checklist (other's may agree or disagree):

1) presence of fish
2) presentation
3) fly

all are critical but unless you have #1 and #2, #3 is irrelevant.

That being said I prefer a lively pattern in winter, for a simple tie try black, purple or other dark marabous with highlight colors; or layer white marabou, orange and a red streak (back to front). Bunny leeches are also easy and work great. Wooly buggers will work, try purple or black there too.