Fly Fishing Forum banner

beginning salt water fishing

2K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  jlsmithii 
#1 ·
This fall, I have the opportunity to try some salt water fly fishing. I've never done this before. I'm interested in any tips or advice anyone would have. I primarily will be surf fishing but will have a few opportunities to fish an inlet jetty. As for my gear, I'll have a 9 wt with an adequate salt water reel so I should be set from the gear standpoint. Just looking for some pointers.

Thanks

#2 ·
Here's one of the 'rules of thumb' I often use:

"early and late, moving water and bait"

Over the years I noticed that these factors produce good action most often (but not particularly sight fishing). Moving water refers to tide changes which create an advantage for predators over bait.

I've also put together a set of four precedents that apply to saltwater fishing situations (including sight fishing):

Most important: presence of fish
Next: mood of fish
then: presentation
finally: fly pattern

A dozen flies will do the deed, if the presentation is right. Just about anything presented any way will get a strike when the fish is in the mood. But if they are not there, nothing will work.

I use these tenets when I fish or guide for striped bass, which I assume you are pursuing (?)

Learn to read the birds. Large birds like gannets usually mean larger bait, and that often also means larger fish. Terns mean small bait, which can mean all kinds of fish, but not if they are hunting on their own. But when terns are whirling and diving and carefully timing their dives with the action of a force beneath the surface, or if some of the splashes are not made by the birds, there is a feeding frenzy beneath them.