Fly Fishing Forum banner

Winter fishing in the North East?

8K views 12 replies 5 participants last post by  millerbrown 
#1 · (Edited)
I am new to fly Fishing and i am starting in the winter. I am told it still good to fish in the winter for trout. The waterway i fish the most is a local stream that is stocked every spring. I have been using a #8 Black Wollybugger, #14 Phesant tail #14 green midge thing and a #10 Muddler Minnow. I have only had one hook up and it was on the Wollybugger. I do have an assortment of other flys, but those are what were suggested to me. I am looking for some input.
Thanks
Dan

Also where is the best place to find trout? Riffles, flats, so on?

#3 ·
Hey Dan,

Most of the streams/rivers where I live (central Ma) are locked in ice right now except for the Swift River in Belchertown which, being a tailwater, is totally ice free and running at a low level. There's been great action over the last month with small (#18), dark emergers. I've seen some taken on the w. buggers that you carry.

Check it out.

Millerbrown

#4 ·
I went and checked out the river in Belchertown today. I had a lot of fun and i caught my first trout on a fly rod. It was awesome! I met some experienced fishermen and the showed me a lot. One of the guys there saw me catch the fish and told me that it looks like im the one who got hooked, not the fish. I think he was right.
thanks so much,
Dan

#5 ·
Congrats on the first trout! The Swift is not easy water to catch fish in so you should feel really good about it.

Winter fishing is pretty slow in general because the fish are cold and don't move very far for a meal. You need to bounce your fly along the bottom and it should move slowly so it stays in the fish's strike zone as long as possible.

As for the best place to find trout, there's a lot of answers to that one:
1. Just after the end of a riffle where the water dumps into a pool.
2. Bends in the river that form pools.