Fly Fishing Forum banner

Puget Sound Salmon

3K views 9 replies 6 participants last post by  Moonlight 
#1 ·
As some of you know, I have been fishing from the beaches of Puget Sound for quite a few years for searun cutthroat and salmon. At this moment, we're all looking for the resident fish to show up along our central and southern beaches.

I jump-started it by going out with a friend and guide, Capt. Keith Robbins, last week and, most recently, yesterday morning.

We didn't catch any sizeable kings, but we caught over 50 salmon between us. Many coho were in the 4-5 pound range. I caught all mine on a #4 popper. I sometimes had two and three fish slashing at it all the way to the boat.

It was an awesome morning!

Leland.

#2 ·
Leland-

You're killin' me! I miss those days out on the Straits and Sound fly fishing in the ocean for chromer salmon. After seeing DoubleSpey's demo of your popper, I can't wait til the next chance I get to try 'em.

I look forward to another Hefferweissen and good chow at the Pyramid ale house with you but this time it's gonna have to be when the Mariners are in town! It's torture being across the street from Safeco without a game going on.

Keep us posted as the salmon move into the sound.

#3 ·
I'm Impressed

This happening at Seiku wouldn't amaze me, but it's sure impressive when you can get into that kind of fishing in central Puget Sound.

I'm attributing it to having a boat and a very knowledgable guy at the helm (and probably a little of Leland's Popper Mojo:smokin: )

Sounds like a lot of Coho headed our way this year - better get tying!

DS

#4 ·
Leland --

have never tried a popper for Salmon...will be in BC in a few weeks, and would love to give it a try...are you tying a generic popper? If not, would you be willing to share the recipe? My popper of choice these days here in the northeast is normally a gurgler...plan on tying some smaller versions of those....probably, chartreuse, yellow and pink.

thanks!

--j

#5 ·