Fly Fishing Forum banner

sunglasses

3K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  andysweet 
#1 ·
Hi,

I'm a sunglasses designer, and have been asked by a client to design some fishing glasses that incorporate features that aren't usually offered on fishing sunglasses.

I'm not a fisherman, so what I'd like to ask is what features are most important to you in a pair of sunglasses for fishing? This can be anything from simply shapes, styles and colours, things that make sunglasses more practical for fishing, and features that currently aren't available on fishing sunglasses but that you'd like to see.

Any help would be most appreciated.

Cheers
Andy

#2 ·
Andy -

You might want to do a little competitive research by clicking on the "Sponsors" button at the top of the page. Forum Sponsor Action Optics http://www.actionoptics.com/ has a primer on materials and styles. What's your price point? Who is your market? Fresh water guys need different features than salt fishermen.

That said, polarized lenses are critical. There is a safety factor to eye coverage when flies and lures with sharp hooks are flying, so more coverage, and wraparound coverage, is better than less. Form follows function. If you're going with light frames or polycarbonate lenses, consider the wind factor. No one likes losing glasses overboard. Make sure they'll stay on.

I'm not a potential customer; I have a pair of prescription glasses with progressive bifocal lenses so I can tie a knot close up and then look up and see at a distance. I like cable temples so I don't have to deal with Croakies or some gimp to tie the glasses around my neck. I like a sweat bar to keep perspiration and stinging sun block out of my eyes. My lenses are amber for salt water, but a trout fisherman might want gray.