Fly Fishing Forum banner

`threadline' `eyes' ?

2K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  Hammer 
#1 ·
i have some large double salmon hooks , i'm not satisfied with my tying results so far,spent years tying 4's /smaller,,,although i'm certain if i clipped the TUE and used `threadline' for a `gut' type eye,bent the shank slightly i'd be happy and maybe the fish as well :wink: ,,,what methods are you using to assure the `gut',stays put,epoxy?====and it seems the easy way would be to lay the `gut' along the top/bottom of the double shank shank yeilding a verticle eye,any thoughts on this as well? ,these are hardcore fishing flies to be swung with spey rods not presentation :)

#2 ·
Hammer,

I've been fishing with flies tied on blind eye hooks for about 5 years with the 20# braided mono tied to the shank with 6/0 Danville or 8/0 Uni-Thread and then simply cementing the windings with ordinary head cement. I've not had one pull loose. Remember 150 years ago epoxy and super glues didn't exist and they were using blind eye hooks without having the eyes pull out. And all they used to hold the gut to the hook was fine silk thread and the cements they had available.

#3 ·
thanks for the info