Fly Fishing Forum banner

Bass Bugs for Smallmouth

4K views 14 replies 6 participants last post by  pmjasper 
#1 ·
Ok I'm starting to tie some deer hair bugs for river smallies and was wondering if anyone else here ties them. if so could you please post some pics. Thank you.

#2 ·
Funny you should ask . . .

I'm planning to tie some white deer hair poppers for the freshwater fly swap if I can get them to come out right. (I'm new at this too!)

The recipe and photo will be posted here after the swap is done. Due date for the swap is 2/14 (I think?) so you won't have to wait long.

If someone want's to post a photo and recipe before then please do-- it will help me too!

Q

#5 ·
Wow! Very Nice! I feel inadequate . . . mine were just gonna be plain white deer hair poppers :eek: .

I thought about adding the google eyes but wondered how well they would stick. I was recently at the craft stores looking for some kind of eyes that I could use. Did you just glue the eyes onto the hair? Or is there some sort of "stem" that's imbedded into the hair or tied to the hook shank?

I was also looking at one of those cheap electric mustache/beard trimmers ($9.99) as a way to trim the deer hair. On the few deer hair flies that I've tied I had a heck of a time trying to trim the hair with a razor blade. Anybody ever try the electric trimmers?

Q

#6 · (Edited)
Pete those are some real nice bugs.

Q, I've never tried an electric trimmer, though I have thought about it. What I've found in the trimming department is to trim the underside flat first, then work on the sides & top. A double edged razor works best, can be bent into a semicircle to trim the top, but is a scary implement to work with. Each razor is good for ~ 1 fly. Thr final thing is to do the trimming over or inside a trash can.

#7 ·
Nice bugs!