Fly Fishing Forum banner

What fly line?

5K views 16 replies 7 participants last post by  juro 
#1 ·
Last year I developed tennis elbow so a couple of friends suggested that I get a 2 hand rod. I understand it can't be used in all conditions, but hopefully it will put less wear and tear on my elbow. Just recently I got a good deal on a Loomis Cross Current TH Salt 11'3 10/11 weight rod. Since I am new to using the TH rod I am looking for some advice as to what fly line I should use.

Steve

#2 · (Edited)
Hey Steve, you're going to find that a pretty powerful rod. My guess is you will want a 12 or even 13 wt line or the equivalent grain shooting heads. I have a Beulah 10/11 wt, 10'6" Switch. I've tried it with several lines; for overhead it likes a 12 wt best. For Spey on the canal I would guess a 500 grain Skagit head ( a longer rod would be better for the Spey style casting, but that one will work). You should try before buy (a few of us have 1 or 2 spare lines.)

#3 ·
Steve,

That rod calls for a 425 grain line so a Rio Outbound 10wt line should be about the starting point for that rod. I've got one you can try if you want before you buy. I also think that rod was designed specifically for overhead beach work rather than spey casting at 11'3" so it is likely to be fairly stiff and fast. That being said, I've found that the Rio guide for lines is a little light for beginning casters, so you might want to go a bit heavier to load the rod like an Outbound 11wt and eventually you may want to move to a 10wt. You will probably be able to skagit cast with it but I'm not sure it will excel at that style. My guess is you'd want to start with a skagit around 550 grains with no cheaters as a starting point. From what I've been told, there are very few rods that cast well both overhead and spey/skagit but besides the canal most fishing you'll be doing will be overhead.

#4 ·