Fly Fishing Forum banner

Eleuthera Report 2/23 - 3/1/2011

5K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  titleguy 
#1 · (Edited)
I just returned from a week in North Palmetto Point, next to Governor’s Harbour, Eleuthera, Bahamas. It was a perfect week for bonefishing with temps in the lower 80’s and water temps above average. The waters were glassy on the first day and the breeze slowly built to 10-15 from the SE by the end of the week which cooled off the water slightly on the ocean side.

As a novice I looked at this trip as a success and learning experience. It was my third DIY trip to the Bahamas in three years having fished the same Eleuthera waters last year and Cat Island the year before.

Locations:
Beach House rental – By far my most successful location (which I almost completely ignored last year thinking there wouldn’t be bones there) was right out my back door and down the steps. It is a sandy beach front with scattered coral heads. The first morning I saw what I thought were baby tarpon cruising just over the 1.5 foot drop off where the waves start to break. Turns out the 24-26 inch fish were big bones. I was able to cast to them, get follows and takes and unceremoniously break them off. I also did a lot of blindcasting and landed numerous bones as well as palometas, barracuda and jacks. Rays also fed just over the drop off but I didn’t see any bones following.