Fly Fishing Forum banner

First winter steelhead on a fly?

2K views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  Luv2flyfish 
#1 ·
Heres how mine went... I remember it well:

It was a Wednesday after work, my fishing buddy who owned a large construction firm and sets his own hours called and said "fish are in the middle stretch". I packed my briefcase at the Renton Boeing Facility where I worked as a on-site computer consultant and said "I need to go to the office for a meeting".

By the time I got the the parking area Jack was already there and impatiently waiting as I pulled on some waders and strung up the silly fat line through the guides of the 9'6" RPL I bought at Kaufmanns from Dennis Worley the autumn before. Jack was an exceptional angler but not at all interested in fly-fishing. In fact this difference would eventually lead to our parting of ways as two avid anglers traveling the countryside in pursuit of chrome, sad to say - as he was a great friend and among the best anglers I had ever had the pleasure to meet. He simply didn't have the patience for my preferences in water and as he boondoggled a lot from the sled, I sat with hands folded a lot. When I started bringing the fly rod out to Neah Bay I think that was the last straw for him, understandably.

Anyway, Jack and I bushwacked to a favorite spot and the river was in great shape. He laced a small sand shrimp behind a small clown corky and the race was on. I stood on a logpile, staring at my flybox. Jack looked over, laughed, and said "is that how a fly fisherman does it?". I had not taken a cast yet, and we had been there for several minutes. I picked a pattern I saw in Trey Combs book, modified with a bucktail under-collar to hold the marabou out.