Fly Fishing Forum banner

Tying height

6K views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  natrix 
#1 ·
I've been tying for a few years now, although not consecutively. One of the problems I'm having is finding a comfortable height for the vice when I'm tying. My desk has a table top of 30 inches and that puts the vice about mid chest level but I'm finding my back gets stiff just after 1/2 hour or so......

So what height or level on the body does everyone find comfortable for them?

Doug

#2 ·
In my case ...

My tying desk has an adjustable-height shelf in front, and use an extension to position my vise out away from the shelf. This allows me to keep the vise very low. My upper arms are straight at my sides and my forearms are at about a 90 degree angle in front of me.

Zero strain on my back.

#5 ·
Having a tying position of the type that Stu describes is best for comfort at the tying bench. This is why I never use a pedestal base when tying at home. A clamp base allows you to adjust the vise up or down to also help get the vise to the most comfortable position.

Office chairs make great tying chairs: they are easy to adjust, have comfortable seats, and are easy on the back for hours.

If you position the vise as Stu does, you will be able to tie for hours (5,6,9+) in a day without back, shoulder, or arm pain. A.K. Best talks about using the same vise height in his book "Production Fly Tying". Virtually all folks who are or who have been commercial tyers have discovered to value of this vise height.

#7 ·
Going against some grain .......