Fly Fishing Forum banner

Ethics???????

2K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  Eric 
#1 ·
I have very little experience with Tarpon myself. I have been doing a ton of reading on them and for one lonely week a year I am lucky enough to be in an area that holds resident fish, had four shots, went 0/4, one was a solid hook up. When I was down earlier this year I found it difficult to resist the urge to drop a fly next to the dock one of the two marinas on the island I was on that had what I considered "trained" fish nearby. I had numerous people tell me to try it when I was there, and more have said I should since I returned. The whole thing seemed a bit akin to casting to spawning steelhead, something I don't do.

Thoughts?

#2 ·
Hi, Jamey,

At least you've hooked a tarpon. I yet to do that after many repeated attempts at dour fish.

I think if you hooked a marina fish you'd feel a bit ashamed, as if your lust to land a tarpon had gotten the better of you and your standards. You mentioned spawning steelhead -- I think you'd feel the same way you would if you deliberatly fished for and caught one of those spawners you mentined above.

I don't think casting to marina tarpon is necessarily unethical, it's just that doing so would seem to cheapen the experience you're after and the goal you're trying to attain.

My .02

Eric

#3 ·
Hi Jamey
I don't think that there should be any ethical problem with fishing in a marina. It is, however, in a lot of marinas that I know of not permitted.

I would draw the line though at fishing somewhere like Robbies in the Keys where the tarpon are fed by visitors.

Pete

#4 ·
Interesting question