Fly Shop Attitude - Fly Fishing Forum
Worldwide Flyfishing Discussion Talk flyfishing with members around the world!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2006, 04:59 PM

Fly Shop Attitude

[rant]

I really don't get this constant phenomenon.

A friend from work is jazzed to get into fly fishing this year. He brought in his reel into one of the last "good" local shops in the area to buy some fly line and have them put it on. My friend doesn't know the lingo yet didn't know exactly what type of line to get and got a grumpy "well, you are going to have to do better than that."

Seriously. The wording my friend used was complete noob speak too. Bells and whistles should have gone off in that shop employee's head to be extra helpful and friendly.

A return customer was instantly lost. He was going to stock his fly box up,get tippet and the other bells and whistles too but just had them do the line due to the rudeness. He has no plans to go back unless he is desperate.

I recommended the shop so now I doubt I'll go there anymore either. These places just don't get it that customer service is ALL they have going for them these days. When this is not offered then there is NO REASON not to go online or go to Dick's, Sportman's Warehouse,Cabellas ect.

[/rant]

Last edited by griz; 03-04-2006 at 05:36 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2006, 05:26 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by griz
These places just don't get it that customer service is ALL they have going for them these days. When then is not offered then there is NO REASON not to go online or go to Dick's, Sportman's Warehouse,Cabellas ect.
That's exactly right. Why more shops don't understand that is beyond me. The ONLY reason to patronize a small shop is the service. If that is lacking then that's a shop that's not long for this world. And, rightfully so.