CND 1409 sink tips for Alaska Silvers - Fly Fishing Forum
Getting Started The only dumb question is the one not asked

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2004, 03:15 PM
Recent Member

CND 1409 sink tips for Alaska Silvers

Hello,
I am new to the discussion group but often surf the valuable information provided here. I am going to the Togiak River in Alaska the third week in August and need some information on sink tip lines for casting weighted and unweighted flies to Silver Salmon. I own a CND 1409 thanks to this discussion group and would like some suggestions on your favorite lines for this purpose.

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-20-2004, 09:25 PM
spey addict

Send a message via AIM to Moose
The 1409 Expert

I have that rod and an Airflo Long Delta multi tip 9/10 and the system works well on this rod. I'm told that the regular Delta as opposed to the long Delta is better for throwing big flies.
Old 05-21-2004, 08:57 AM
Recent Member

1409 Custom for Silvers

Thanks for the help Moose. I should have specified that I have the 1409 Custom. I was leaning towards the Airflo Long Delta.
Does it have just one loop to attatch the tip, or is it like the Rio lines which have several loops for attatching tip1, tip 2 etc?
I have a Rio WC 9/10/11 floater which the rod doesn't seem to like and a SA XLT 8/9 which the rod does like since I cut 14 feet from the tip to eliminate the wind deflection and poor turnover of the factory line. Perhaps the Long Delta will be a "happy medium".
Old 05-21-2004, 09:19 AM
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic

Hi Uncle Craig -

I like the Windcutter 9/10/11 on that rod for a very positive feeling cast even with the type 8 15ft tip on it. Just strip to the head, set up and feel for that "whump" as the strong tip comes over the top to punch the line out there.