Hey! From SW Virginia, New river.... - Fly Fishing Forum
Member Profiles Introduce yourself!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2003, 09:51 PM
Recent Member

Hey! From SW Virginia, New river....

Hey yall, good to be here! I like what I see here and plan to stay for a while!!
A little about me...
I live in Christiansburg, VA, near the campus of Virginia Tech and am about 5 miles from the New river, my curent home river. I have been fishing the New on and off for 11 years now. I mainly fish for smallmouth right now although my roots have saltwater soaked in them! I was raised on the Chesapeake Bay and come from a long heritage of watermen and civil servants. My love fpr fishing began at the age of 2, 26 years ago. I began flyfishing 18 years ago and been tying almost as long. Building rods for 10 years. I started off tournament fishing on the coast of NC and fished all around the south and then began to guide and loved that more. I guided in coastal NC for several years before I had the opportunity to guide out west. I went to Colorado for a few years, starting at an outfitters that catered to elk, deer, and lion hunting and hired me as the main trout guide. After that place I went to the Aspen valley to teach casting and guide full time and rowed a drift boat down the Colorado and Roaring Fork river and took wade trips to the Frying Pan and high mountain streams/lakes. I tied for a few shops before burning out but still tie for myself and friends. I still make rods but again only for me and a select few.