Fly Fishing Forum

Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.flyfishingforum.com/flytalk4/index.php)
-   Lines, Loops and Leaders (http://www.flyfishingforum.com/flytalk4/forumdisplay.php?f=34)
-   -   Flourocarbon - how far up do you go? (http://www.flyfishingforum.com/flytalk4/showthread.php?t=2267)

juro 02-20-2001 10:08 PM

Flourocarbon - how far up do you go?

I use flouro for SW flats work, trout, inshore tuna and for summer steelhead... but usually just the tippet (90%), sometimes the taper and tippet (10%).

Anyone go further up than the tippet or taper?

juro 02-20-2001 10:09 PM

RE:Flourocarbon - how far up do you go?

Also, did anyone else notice that although the leader material does appear less visible, the blood knots look really white and obvious w/ flouro?

FredA 02-22-2001 08:21 PM

Up to my butt. Ha. Being a rookie I tend to listen and learn on such threads but I'll add my .02. I started out using the tapered Big Game leaders with a loop to the tippit. First time to wet a line last April my cast was collapsing, unlike what it had been doing in the backyard. Decided to try something different to compensate for my casting deficencies. I had picked up the Kreh/Sosin knots book and figured I'd try thier recommendation - butt looped to tippet with bimini. I used 30# Rio hard mono for the butt - figured it would lever the fly over. Used 12 or 16# floro for the tippet. Seemed like kind of a waste tying a bimini with floro but being a knot knitwit I was/am paranoid about knotting the floro to mono. This worked out ok. One day during week of the fourth I stood on a bayside flat surrounded by stripers for about an hour with little more than cursory inspection of my fly. Again, to compensate for my incompetence I experimented some more with the leader. Increased the length to 10 or 11 feet and tapered down to 10 # floro. I also changed the butt - 2 1/2 feet of 30#, 1 1/2 feet of 24#, both the Rio hard mono then loop to 16# floro (bimini) 12# then 10#. I tied the floro se