Fly Fishing Forum

Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.flyfishingforum.com/flytalk4/index.php)
-   Member Profiles (http://www.flyfishingforum.com/flytalk4/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   new from Quincy Massachusetts (http://www.flyfishingforum.com/flytalk4/showthread.php?t=22238)

phlyphish 02-18-2006 02:11 PM

new from Quincy Massachusetts

Hello,

Im new to flyfishing, this site, and how to use the forum???

I look forward to learning the skill...Seth...ka phlyphish

Sandman Caranx 02-18-2006 02:16 PM

well I am new here too and as a reply the last words you typed I can only say: Stywe Lyne !!!

phlyphish 02-18-2006 02:21 PM

nice to meet ya sandman..what do you fish for in SA ?

griz 02-18-2006 05:14 PM

hey phlyphish,

if you are new to fly fishing then maybe go up to the "getting started" forum near the top of the main page. read through it and see what info you can get from it. if you don't find what you are looking for then just ask away. Unlike most other forums i post on... people here are actually friendly and seem to know what they are talking about.

teflon_jones 02-19-2006 09:11 AM

Welcome to the forum! :)

As griz said, your best bet is to post any specific questions in the Getting Started forum.

doogue 02-19-2006 10:38 AM

Welcome Phly!

Phlyphish,

Welcome aboard. You will indeed finds loads of information and help on these forums. There are lots of helpful and courteous fisherfolk on this site.

I grew up in Braintree and I now live in NH. Let me start out here with a couple of questions:

1. Are you more interested in saltwater or freshwater fly fishing (or both)?

2. Are you interested in using the forum to learn about choosing the right gear for the task? Or do you already own a rod and you are just looking for advice on where and how to fish?

Answer questions 1 and 2 above and I can help you out. I just need to know where to focus when I start dishing mediocre advice!