Fly Fishing Forum

Fly Fishing Forum (http://www.flyfishingforum.com/flytalk4/index.php)
-   Yak Attack (http://www.flyfishingforum.com/flytalk4/forumdisplay.php?f=39)
-   -   Rudder or no rudder? (http://www.flyfishingforum.com/flytalk4/showthread.php?t=19629)

teflon_jones 02-18-2005 07:16 AM

Rudder or no rudder?

Well, I hit my target on my bonus! :) So now I'm shopping for a kayak, and I'm wondering if I should get a rudder or not. I have zero kayaking experience, but a lot of canoe and boat experience. I'll be using it for near-shore fishing around the Cape and R.I. The Pungo 14 is what's been recommended to me. I'm not sure if that comes with a rudder or not.

Adrian 02-18-2005 09:00 AM

Congratulations!

Like most other sports, kayaking comes with lots of optional "extras", a rudder being one. I took a lesson first time out. On the advice of my instructor, I learned to paddle without a rudder and do fine in all conditions. I guess it's a bit like learning to drive on a stick shift car versus one with automatic transmission. That said, the shape of the hull has a lot to do with how the kayak tracks and behaves in wind.

Guys who kayak fish with conventional gear like them a lot because it makes tracking (basically staying on a straight course) a lot easier when trolling with multiple rigs.

Some of the more recent hulls designed specifically for fishing are pretty flat and would probably be hard work to keep on track without a rudder. Some folks swear by them, others (like me) make do without.

If I had one I would probably have wrecked it by now by forgetting to retract it when hitting the beach :roll:

Before you "take the plunge" (speaking both metaphorically and literally :lildevl: ) and buy a pungo (sit inside), I suggest looking at sit on top designs. I don't want to start a major sit-in versus sit-on debate (probably will) but here are my thoughts: