Fly Fishing Forum banner

cross cut rabbit strips

4K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  Ken_ D 
#1 ·
Hey everyone this is my first post, I'm a new member, and am looking forward to talking to all of you.
Anyway... Has enyone ever tried to cut thier own rabbit strips from a skin. I have a couple of good skins that I aquired just for this reason and thought that you might have a couple of tips before I get started. Thanks

#2 ·
I'm no expert at this but from my feeble attempts at this I can offer the following hints:

Hold the skin taut when cutting.

Cut from the back side of the pelt, .

On the cross cut strips be very careful to only cut through the skin, and not into the fur. I've lost 1/2 of the fur by cutting too deep on some strips.

Don't try to cut a strip the length of the pelt. Shorter lengths are easier to control.

Good luck.

#3 ·
I've cut pelts but only straight cuts and taper cuts for tails. If the strips are thin enough you get a crosscut effect but need to wrap more times.

I used the same technique as JohnD, cut from the pelt using a pair of Fiskars squeeze scissors using the tips of the scissors.

I would go chat with the ladies at the fabric store. Every time I've asked such a question at the check out counter, any craft savvy gal in the vicinity would come flying over to offer advice.

Maybe you could ask a fur-coat maker, they would definitely know. Is Walter Dyer's still in business in Boston?

#4 ·