Fly Fishing Forum banner

One Handed vrs. Two Handed Rods

5K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  juro 
#1 · (Edited)
I have been fly fishing for 22+ years and can place a #16 dry fly in a dixie cup at 20 yards with ease, I cast a 1-wt, 5-wt and 9-wt fly rods...
All one handed rods, ranging from 8.0' to 10.3' in lenght...

I have never used a two handed fly rod before, how hard would it be to convert over to a long, two handed fly rod...

Are there different machanics involved in casting?
Besides the added weight and length, do you have to pivit at the hips to cast this?

Does the two handed fly rod allow for longer, more powerful cast, or is it just a sales gimmic for "BIGGER" fish"?
It gets quite windy off the break walls at Lake Erie, would the two handed fly rod in 9 thru 12 weight cast well in windy conditions?

My brother wants me to cross over and buy a "NOODLE ROD & SPINNING REEL" for salmon and steelheads... EEEEEK!:eyecrazy:
I'd rather get a 17 foot, two handed fly rod.

Please help me answer these questions.

See less See more
#2 ·
two hand vs one hand

Two handed fly rods are really at their best on medium to large rivers although they are now being used to fish stripers off east coast jetties as well as in the surf.

"I can place a #16 dry fly in a dixie cup at 40 yards with ease" yards?

Having cast a one hander for 22+ years, you should have no trouble adapting to a two hander. A lot of the same rules apply, casting stroke/arc vs loop size, application of power. positive stop etc.

I cannot cast a two hander any further than I can a one hander. But I can cast a 9 wt and a big #2 fly further, more consistantly, in the wind, all day long, with a whole lot less effort with the two hander.

If you are going to be using the big rod for fishing rivers there are some advantages to "Spey" fishing but then again, the Great Lakes guys don't always "Spey " cast and swing flies.