Supinski's book [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Supinski's book

peter-s-c
12-23-2002, 09:18 AM
Just treated myself to "Steelhead Dreams" and the passage on steelhead feeding really caught my attention. I would not have thought that steelhead would take so few baitfish. It made me realize that I better increase the nymph count in my flybox.

I've heard and read mixed reviews on Matt's book yet I've found the first quarter of the book that I've read so far to be packed with useable info. I'm a bit surprised why some people dump on this book. Maybe because it challenges some assumptions?

removed_by_request
12-23-2002, 10:00 AM
I think more people dump on him than his book.

Might have to do with attitude my friend.

pmflyfisher
12-23-2002, 10:39 AM
The book has a lot of technical information on how to fish the great lakes steelhead on the fly but does not single out specific rivers or locations thank god. I learned new things and I have been fishing here for 22 years and reading everything available.

Nymphs rule, join the clan. If you want to do traditional wet or spey fly swinging that can work at times but overall to touch fish consistently it is nymphs low and slow IMHO.

I hope to meet Matt in person at the upcoming Mid west fly show in January, I have only trade a couple of emails with him to date.

Thinking of booking a steelie trip with him though for my youngest boy and me this spring.

PM Out

removed_by_request
12-23-2002, 11:06 AM
Met him at the show 2 years ago, he drew a crowd.

Saw him chuck and duck the Mo' with a spey out fit he was pretty adept at slinging the lead.

If you are thinking about heading up there check out Glenn B. and his crew, PM me if you want more info.

BigDave
12-23-2002, 11:26 AM