"Tiger's Eye" flatwing [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: "Tiger's Eye" flatwing

boarmountain
12-16-2002, 05:08 PM
Striblue has asked me to post a few pics so here's one. If you like, more to come.
Mike

striblue
12-16-2002, 05:34 PM
Boar...welcome..glad you were able to figure out the photo process.... Keep it up..Bueatiful flatwings ... you and I are both recent tyers , in the last two years. I think the entire board is compoased of dedicated flyfishermen from around the country. I am sure you will be able to discus these flies with Doc Duprey, Adrian and saltydog, to name a few who love tying and fishing with the flat wing.. Todd Murphy who works with KA. is also a member of the forum...

boarmountain
12-16-2002, 05:51 PM
I am new to SALTWATER tying. I have been a flyfisherman and tyer since I was 10. I am now 38. I used to tie fully dressed salmon flies when I was a teen. Now, I don't have time to do that anymore! LOL. That's probably why flatwings appeal to me, I like the old ways. When I first started saltwater, I tied the usual.(clousers, surf candies,ect.)but just didn't get any satisfaction from that style of tying. Upon reading Abrames ' books , I found a method of tying and fishing that appealed to the trout fisherman in me and I have never looked back. The only modern fly I use is a crease fly. Here is me articulated crease fly.

striblue
12-16-2002, 06:20 PM
Boar... thanks for the explaination...maybe I should start trout flies...but I need to work more on my saltwater... I was thinking of doing a Carrie Stevens grouping but will need to pass on that for a while....I love that crease fly and I have never seen one with the back section like that... I will have to try it.. Thanks.

boarmountain
12-16-2002, 06:39 PM
I think your flies are great! Thanks about the crease fly. That one worked like gangbusters this year. Here is a pic of a few salmon flies I tied in 1982

striblue
12-16-2002, 08:02 PM