Feather Brain Surf Candy [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Feather Brain Surf Candy

striblue
12-15-2002, 01:32 PM
This is my first attempt and I like the way it comes out..the top view in the next picture seems just right..This type of fly will be my surf candy entry in the fly swap... not sure about the top yet for that one.

striblue
12-15-2002, 01:33 PM
Top view:

Quentin
12-15-2002, 03:47 PM
Profiles look great! I'd like to see what it looks like hanging in the current! Gee, maybe I'll even get a chance to test it for myself (hint, hint) :hehe:

Q

Slinger
12-15-2002, 06:22 PM
I don`t care what it takes, I`ve got to get one of these to see if I can do them myself. These feather brains could be your ticket to fly tying fame.
Slinger

Slinger
12-15-2002, 06:26 PM
John, how long do they take and are they very difficult for the average tier? When can we see you tie some so we can get a lesson?
Slinger

striblue
12-15-2002, 07:55 PM
Steve, I am an average tyer so anybody can do these...once you get the hang of it and the sequences. The surf candy head needs improvement ...I am working on this plus I have changed the weighting on the flounder fly so it sits flat and does not sway up like the earlie ones..I will also change the weighting on the Crab so it sits flat and not sitting up on its behind. The slow part is taking the time to pin drop goop to set the head feathers... the lack of a nose tie down gives you the natural feather bend... Who said you have to tie everything down, especially when you can use epoxy... I will show you this at the show.

Joshr
12-15-2002, 10:23 PM
John--

How many white neck feathers do you have on each side for this one?

And I assume you have a narrow spreader structure underneath that's made of bucktail?

I love this fly, and unlike many of your crustacean creations, this one I have a feeling I can tie!

--JHR

striblue
12-15-2002, 10:52 PM