Advice Requested [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Advice Requested

Paxton
09-08-2002, 09:29 AM
I'm a new member to the forum, thanks to a chance meeting with Pequin on South Beach flats about a month ago. Have totally enjoyed and learned from reading all your contributions. This is a great site!
Although not new to fishing, I am new to salt water fly fishing. started this Spring(last week of May) and had great success blind fishing off point at Chatham Light . Also success throwing poppers to tailing bluefish in tub area.
Have been a total failure sight fishing the flats of South Beach :(
Last Friday from 10:30 a.m. to 3:45p.m. I sighted 106 stripers. Had only 9 follows and not one hit. They only seemed interested in following a 1 inch crab pattern.
Obviously I am in need of help regarding retrieve. I tried quick strips, small strips, inching the crab along and dead stop when the fly was a ft or 2 infront of Mr. Bass.....still no results :(
Any tips or references to articles regarding technique or retrieve, would be greatly appreciated.
I have to admit, despite my failures.....this is the most exciting fishing I have ever experienced in my life. At least I'm hooked!
Oh......I made no sighting of the "Tank" that Pequin reports is now patrolling South Beach
:D

juro
09-08-2002, 09:44 AM
If I told you I'd have to shoot you ;)

Let's plan on getting out there together one of these days. In fact today would be one of the best of the entire second half of the season.

Even when they are finicky as hell there are ways to open their mouths. You won't go 106 for 106 but you should hook 8,10 maybe 20 good bass out of those numbers.

That's all I will say on line :D

Paxton
09-09-2002, 07:37 AM
Thanks Juro....I certainly appreciate the offer for some coaching. Can meet you almost any day...live in Worcester area, but can either leave at crack of dawn (as I usually do) or the night before.
Available 9/14 and on, with the exception of 9/24 and 9/28.