Ants & Trout maybe = some luck. [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Ants & Trout maybe = some luck.

RTF
09-01-2002, 08:34 AM
I was reading an article in the American Angler about ants and trout. It caught my attention and I went out to the local shop and purchased $9.00 of ant fly patterns. The stream I will be fishing this week winds throughout wooded and agriculture terrian. It will be my first ever attempt at trout with a fly rod.

Now a little info on my trout stream. I have been fishing this stream for about 10 years on and off, but with worm and spinner. I have caught my fair of trout over the years. It is stocked by the state with brown and rainbow. Fish get as big as 16 inches. Most stocked fish are fished out within the first month of the season. I have caught native brook trout in the dead of summer before. During the summer after spring and even into september most all fisherman abandone this stream. It has many feeders coming into it and the main stream dumps into the susquhanna river, but I'm fishing way north of there. Some may ask, why would I fish such a stream in september that has low potential at this time of year. My answer is this. In April every year before they stock it usually on opening day without a doubt several lunker brown trout are taken out of this stream which leads me to believe that there are still some big fish in this stream and we have 30 days left to fish it before they close it off until next year. If I can catch one of these bad boys, I will say a few prayers and release him back into the stream.

FlyFishAR
09-01-2002, 09:51 AM