Fly Fishing Forum banner

Got a cheapo

2K views 14 replies 6 participants last post by  FlyFishAR 
#1 ·
Well I went out yesterday to Wal-Mart and got me a $20.00 combo kit. I had to buy the backing seperate. I am very new at this flyfishing stuff so I figure I wont cry if I destroy this flyrod. I am only fishing for panfish now and this set up works for me. The only thing I got to learn is to stop destroying flies. Seems like on my back cast I'm always hitting something or catching onto something and I'm either breaking the hooks or snapping the fly off of the leader :hehe:

#2 ·
Hi RTF,
I just started flyfishing this year and I also picked up one of the "cheapo" combo set-ups. ($39 for a 5/6wt outfit at Dick's Sporting Goods) The rod works, although it doesn't have a nice "feel" and the tip section loosens and falls out if I don't check it often. The reel? -- well, it only has to hold the line anyway. The main problem was the flyline that came with the kit. It was absolutely useless! I had to buy some "real" stuff, which put my total cost up to about $50. Still, this set-up has enabled me to get some casting practice and even catch a few fish!

I can't help much with your backcast problem --- I do the same thing! :rolleyes:

Q

#5 · (Edited)
RTF and Quentin:

The reason flies break off in the air on your backcast is the same reason that whips crack: because the fly is being yanked around a sudden U-turn that literally breaks the sound barrier.
As a learning technique, look over your shoulder at your backcast. Learn to give your backcast time to straighten out behind you, but not time to drop to the ground or water behind you. As soon as you (quickly) develop the feel for timing, you can keep your eyes forward.
The best thing about cheapo beginner outfits is that they'll make you appreciate the better rod and reel you'll buy next. Don't get discouraged; you're in the sometimes-awkward stage of a wonderfly satisfying, life-long sport.

#7 ·