Fly Fishing Forum banner

Need advice...Help

2K views 13 replies 7 participants last post by  RTF 
#1 ·
I was given my great-great uncle's flyfishing outfit he used back in the 40's thru 60's to trout fish. It is a split bamboo rod, I think 3 piece and I have the reel that goes with it plus his collection of flies. I am very new to the sport of flyfishing. I have zippo expierence. My question is, should I be thinking of trying this outfit out or should it be put away. I get too many conflicting comments about this and need a straight answer. Thanks in advance.

#2 ·
I had the same situation and if I were you I would put it away and get a new outfit...then later ,after you have learned things, you can take it out now and then to use it...but only after you have mastered the basics....If you break it because of a learning curve you will never get over that.

#3 ·
You should take the rod to a reputable flyshop and have them appraise it for you. Just because it's bamboo doesn't mean it's worth $$$$....

If it's the performance that you're concerned with, I say you give it a shot. A 12" trout is not going to break a rod on you.

Better to use it and keep the tradition alive than bury it in the basement...:tsk_tsk:

The one thing I would reccomend is a new line/backing which the flyshop should be able to help with as well. You'll end up a better caster in the end as soft action rods require a bit more attention to casting mechanics. I got caught up in the fast-action craze but have gone back to my old 7 foot 4 weight which flexes right through the handle.

Best of luck,

BigDave

#4 ·
I'd seek out some more information on bamboo rods before trying to use it.

I seem to recall reading somewhere that rods which have sat unused for years may be extremely fragile.

Of course I could be 100% wrong.

THere are several books on bamboo rods.

Good luck.

#5 · (Edited)