Fly Fishing Forum banner

Flyfishing in the White Mountains

2K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  John Desjardins 
#1 · (Edited)
I am new at this sport. I am going on a mountain vaction next week to the white mountains in NH. I was wondering if anyone knew of some good novice waters for pan fish and small mouths. I don't need to know your favorite top secret trout streams.;)
Thanks

#3 ·
Welcome to the board, Puck! I should let all of the forum members know that I've had the pleasure of fishing with this guy, and he's developing quite a reputation with the local bluegill population. They've put up wanted posters saying "When this guy's around, don't eat anything!" :p

Seriously though, I'm not familiar with the warmwater fishing up in that mountain area. Maybe some others can chime in.

Good luck, and let us know how it goes.

#5 ·
My experiences are mostly for trout in that area. Interesting trout streams and brooks abound in the area.

For warmwater I'm coming up blank I have a mental image of a pond near an airport there that would be great for warmwater, but I can't rember where it is. There might be some panfish in the shallows of echo lake.

#6 ·
It's been a long time for me, but I used to fish the Swift, Ammonusuc, Sugar, Pemigewasett rivers with great success. Just go out early and cover a lot of water. One of the streams out near Littleton / Lisbon area was packed with trout and I had a ball fishing a small hopper toward the shoreline as I waded along. I came back to camp with a couple of brookies and a rainbow where my girlfriend was just making coffee. Then we picked up some fresh butter and sugar corn at a farm stand, boiled it in the water from the stream at camp, fried the trout with bacon strips and cracked open a couple of cold ones to complete our "romantic" outdoor dinner. Things kinda worked out well with that girl - she's now my wife of 20 years and I'm still crazy about her!