Fly Fishing Forum banner

Need help (I am a Noob)

1K views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  TheNoob 
#1 ·
Ok... Ok...
to start off i bought a combo package fly fishing starter pack about a week ago and i must say, I am LOVING it!!!
I am completly infatuated with flyfishing now!

So i was wanting to know... im going down to missouri (Lake of the Ozarks) on july 14-20th in the camdenton area and i was wondering what are some good tips on equipment or techniques for the crapi beds down there.

I am using a 8'3'' long pole right now with a very basic metal fly wheel, i dont know the weight of my line now but its tapered

and also what kinda flys should i use down there any suggestions... or doesn't it matter?
(dont flame me for asking im new to this hobby)

Thank you all for the input :)

#2 ·
My experience with Crappies is with bait, rather than a fly so take this advice with a large grain of salt. If I were to seek them I would fish deep with small streamers. Clouser minows would probably work well inched in slowly.

Does anyone have experience with Crappies on a fly?

#3 ·
I fished for crappies with a fly quite a lot over 20 years ago when I spent a year in the purgatory known as South Dakota because crappies, large mouth bass, as some stunted pike were all that were readily available. You are correct about small Clousers being effective, just work them slowly with long pauses between pulls. Also, dark colored clousers are more efective than bright or light colored ones.

However, the most effective flies I found day in and day out were a size 10 all black woolley bugger or a black bunny leech in size 10. Both of these should be weighted with either lead wraps under the body, a bead head, or one of the barbell eyes.