Loop Dropper? [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Loop Dropper?

inland
11-19-2001, 01:23 AM
In light of the tube fly post, I am soliciting feedback on your prefered method for line handling techniques in reguard to hooking fish. Do you prefer to carry a loop in the AHE Wood tradition, or keep the line tight on the reel? How high of an intial drag setting do you carry? Do you keep a high or low rod tip?

My frustration this year has to do with an abnormally high percentage of lost to landed fish, only landing roughly 35%. It seems that no matter how well the fish appeared hooked, they kept coming unpinned. Since taking up two handed fishing 8 years ago, I have used the high rod position with the line tight to the reel. When I rose a fish I would just drop the tip to give the slack, however, over the last 8 years I have probably only averaged 55% landed and I know others do better, much better.

I have been fishing Alec Jackson's spey hooks for at least 3 years now, so nothing different here. The only change for this year is switching to the Sage 6126-3 as this rod is a fair bit softer than the old 7136 and 9140.

Just curious?

Thanks,
William

roballen
11-19-2001, 04:15 AM
55% sounds about right to me. Thats about what I have managed this year. That with floaters and tips and regardless of fly size or hook style. There may be methods that help land more fish to a very small degree but the inevitible fact is a lot of the time they just come unbuttoned.

GBSkunk
11-19-2001, 04:46 PM
I used to hold a loop of line but I found that when a fish hit I would just clamp down on the line out of instinct. This of course did not let the fish turn and resulted in a lot of lost fish. I now just set the drag light on my reel. My Hardys are already pretty light drags. This does require me to pinch the line to the cork whenever I make a cast so that it doesn't go out during the casting motion.