Any idea what this is? [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: Any idea what this is?

petevicar
04-11-2010, 06:31 AM
I am posting this here because I have no idea where it should go.

Last night I found this (not the coin) inside a piece of tuna.
http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k144/petevicar/tooth.jpg
It looks like a tooth.
Does anyone know what it could be?

The tuna was excellent, by the way. Coated in sesame seeds, lightly seared and served on a pineapple/coriander salsa with a tomato vinaigrette and curry mayonnaise.

Smcdermott
04-11-2010, 07:28 AM
Pete,

How thick and brittle was it? I'm no expert but I have butchered a few tuna and that just looks like a normal piece of cartilage that you find along the spine/bloodline of the tuna to me.

Sean

petevicar
04-11-2010, 08:02 AM
Sean
It is very hard and not at all brittle.
The edges are like saw blades. In one direction (away from the point) very smooth and in the other like barbs.
It seems to be a tooth like thing that could bite into something and not release it.

Pete

petevicar
04-11-2010, 08:17 AM
After a little research it looks like it could be the tip of a stingray's tail.
If it is then what it is doing inside the flesh of a tuna is a mystery.

Dave17
04-11-2010, 10:21 AM
That was gonna be my guess

striblue
04-11-2010, 07:20 PM
I thought it was a tip of a sting ray also...I am guessing that it was imbeded in a fish that was eaten by a tuna.

Smcdermott
04-11-2010, 09:39 PM
Pete,

Check out this video on fileting a tuna and look at all the fine bones/cartilage that run along the spine that hold the muscle tissue in place...they have fine spines just like that that hold the tissue and are very sharp. Did you ask the chef what it was...local fish market nearby?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3RIl5t_H4zA

Sean

pteronarcys
04-12-2010, 01:24 AM