rod warranties-is there a better way [Archive] - Fly Fishing Forum

: rod warranties-is there a better way

nmbrowncom
02-14-2010, 09:54 PM
i noticed that OC started a thread about a problem that he encountered with his winston warranty. it got me thinking about the "cost" to the fly rod industry, and eventually us, of the unconditional lifetime warranty offered by virtually all major fly rod manufacturers.

as an attorney, i have worked with a number of fly rod manufacturers and retailers over the past few years, and continue to do so. most of the manufactures are like the fly shops-they barely make it and many are on the ropes big time. i think many could be gone in short order. and the number 1 issue is the cost to the manufacturers of warranty repairs. the number of repairs is staggering, and many owners break their rods multiple times. that said, the overwhelming amount of repairs ore for broken tips.

i've tossed around the idea of eliminating the lifetime unconditional warranty(except for manufacturer defects) for a policy of providing 2 tips per rod and a 1 time only low repair cost.

i'd be curious what others think or if anyone has any other ideas.

petevicar
02-15-2010, 05:11 AM
There are a lot of theories about this but I believe it is all about industry norm and being competitive.

I have heard arguments about initial cost of rod being so high because of the need for warranty.

Not having had the opportunity to look at the accounts or costings of a major manufacturer it is difficult to comment.
However I seriously believe that it is possible to manufacture a fly rod at a fraction of the retail price. That fraction not being a half but more likely a tenth.

This opens up a new can of worms.

Pete

Paxton
02-15-2010, 07:53 AM